How The Heart Decides screenwriter Film Post-Production Journal

Obligatory Selfie Avec Camera” by Durham Bell is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Summary

During post production, I reflected with my team on our film & how we thought we did. I also helped my team gather screenshots for evidence in our slideshow.

Evidence of Further Input

In this scene, the actors were given opportunities to improvise, because in “Jenna”s case, she was supposed to panic & make up excuses.
Improvisation was used during the West Bay scene
On set, we decided to not use the last few lines of them driving off. Instead we filmed an alternate ending with new dialogue. we all gave input on how the story should end.

Evaluation of Script

Artistic:

The story I wrote is a basic romantic comedy, but the use of moving locations, lighting choices, & a longer script to add depth to our characters makes it feel like a complete satisfying story, rather than a short video about a scenario.

Technical:

The script was made slightly different from our other ones. We left a lot of room for improvisation, especially when all 3 actors were on set.

How I Could Have Improved The Film

I could’ve added more scenes of Jerry feeling guilty for not going with Jared. I can show him visibly not wanting to be on the date with Jenna while it’s happening. I also could’ve had him leave early for dramatic effect. Just more scenes to show what happened with Jerry’s date.

What I Learned

I learned to take better care of equipment, & how to communicate with my team & improvise when some people are not present. I also learned how to make my dialogue sound more natural. While filming, some lines sounded weird so my team & I made on set changes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *